Exploring East Borneo: Day 2

Kinabalu National Park

Malaysia’s first World Heritage Site as declared by UNESCO, is larger than Singapore by land area. The whole park covers 75, 400 hectares and its rain forest is home to many rare species of flora and fauna.

Getting There

The tour bus picked me up at about 8:15 am and after approximately 2 hours, we reached Kota Belud, a small village from where we could behold the highest peak in Southeast Asia, Mt. Kinabalu. The magnificent, non-volcanic mountain awed us with her beauty especially because it was a sunny day. Ban, our guide told our tour group that we were pretty lucky she showed herself clearly to us as oftentimes, she shrouds herself with clouds.

Driving to the Park, with Mt. Kinabalu looming by the horizon. It has an elevation of 4,095 m (13,435 ft) above sea level and it is still growing.

A picture perfect view of Mt. Kinabalu

Mt. Kinabalu Botanical Garden

Flower of the Mountain, the Kinabalu Balsam, (Impatiens platyphylla)
The endangered carnivorous pitcher plant, (Nepenthes rajah) is endemic to Mt. Kinabalu. It can hold up to 3.5 litres of water.

Poring Hot Springs

Poring” originally means bamboo.

Newfound friends while on the road: Asnida, Anna and Azrin from KL
The Outdoor Tubs of the hot sulphuric spring for therapeutic baths

The Canopy Walkway

We had to walk 500 meters uphill from the forest floor to reach the walkway amidst the canopy. It was a very sweaty ordeal and had my nostrils flaring for breath by the time I covered a quarter of the way. Going downhill would be another 450 meters or so. My Chuck Taylors made it through the 950 meter walk but not without giving me blisters on my feet.

The Canopy Walkway station
Anna and I, holding on for dear life. lol.
I got “shat” on by a bird. That, apparently makes me lucky.

Kipungit Waterfall

I wanted to cool down after the Canopy Walk and dipping my sore, tired feet into the waters of the quaint Kipungit waterfall did just that for me.

Kipungit Waterfall

Rafflesia Garden

The Rafflesia–the largest flower in the world

Raflessia arnoldii is a parasitic flowering plant that smells like rotting flesh. The stench attracts flies which in turn help in pollenation.

It gives me great pleasure to be able to now say that yes, I’ve seen a meat-eating plant with my own eyes and that I’ve walked through a real rainforest. This day’s activity may have left me with blisters and aches, but I would still do it all over again.

About The Chronic Vacacionista

don't just THINK out of the box. LIVE out of it. View all posts by The Chronic Vacacionista

2 responses to “Exploring East Borneo: Day 2

Leave a Reply

