A Mideast Tastebud Experience

     It seems like I will be deviating from the to-do list I had come up with in my previous post. It has been a hectic first week in the metropolis of Makati.

My daytime view from the 26th floor

 Night view

    Yesterday though, I managed to have a couple of hours to chill and just check out the scene close to the hotel.  A  friend took me on a brief tastebud-expedition of the Mideast and the Mediterranean via Zigurrat Cuisine and was delighted with this gastronomic oasis. I googled “ziggurat” and found that they are, architecturally, the Mesopotamian equivalent of the Egyptian pyramids: large artificial square mountains of stone.

    Discreetly located within the labyrinths of the city, Ziggurat was a feast for my senses. I’m a big fan of Arabic and Mediterranean food and was pleasantly surprised by what I was offered. It has been more than ten years since I last had a satisfying fill of authentic MidEast food which I personally consider my soulfood. Before I even looked at their extensive menu, I started randomly naming my favorites off the top of my head and asked the waitress if they had it. And they did! Well, except for laban (a sort of Mideast yogurt though with a less thicker consistency). So for starters just like the way they do it in the Emirates, I ordered pita bread (I’m used to calling them “chapatti“) and a serving of hummus (ground chickpeas with olive oil) and Pappadums  while waiting for the rest of our orders below:

Flavorful Pappadums and dip.

 Lamb Biryani: It had very tender lamb meat and after the first spoonful, I just felt like I was coming home.

Just a whiff of the spices on this and it’ll have your tummy rumbling.

Dessert 1:  Gulab Jamuns are one of my favorite Indian sweets. They are basically milkballs soaked in honey. I’ll never forget the first time I tasted these at a restaurant called Caravan in Dubai.

Desert 2: Baklavas. Everytime my Dad comes home for vacations, I would always ask him to bring a stash of these Lebanese Sweets home. They’re made of many kinds of nuts: wallnuts, pistachios, peanuts, almonds, etc… enveloped in crunchy and thin pastry films drizzled with syrup.

    I’m so happy to have been taken to Zigurrat and to top that, It’s just about a 2-minute stroll from where I’m currently staying. With it’s diverse selection of restaurants, especially in this district, I’m looking forward to more discoveries in this part of the city.

About The Chronic Vacacionista

don't just THINK out of the box. LIVE out of it. View all posts by The Chronic Vacacionista

2 responses to “A Mideast Tastebud Experience

Leave a Reply

