The Evolution of an 80’s Child’s Early Morning Playlist

Early this morning I thought of Bret Michaels and Axl Rose along with other leather-clad, wild-haired frontmen (who made it subzero-cool to sound like a woman when hitting high notes),  and was instantly in the mood for some headbangin’-big-bad-hair-but-rockin’-good metal music from the 80’s to jumpstart my day. Think Van Halen, Skid Row, Ugly Kid Joe, Poison, Nazareth, White Lion, Guns N’ Roses, Motley Crue, Warrant, etc…

well. You get my drift.

A couple of hours after scouring the vaults of most reliable video-resource sites online, I find a treasure-trove of a playlist featuring snippets of over 30 of the most unforgettable pop hits I grew up with: it even has the singles’ release years noted. There isn’t one song in this collection that I don’t know or that I haven’t sung (and alternately, screeched) to , at one time or another at  some random karaoke joint.

I’m digressing to a totally different, mushier genre, I know. But it is just so nostalgic, I can smell the scent of my childhood–I get like this when vivid memories are triggered. The  same way I get transported back to Highschool Prom Night whenever I hear Puff Daddy’s “I’ll Be Missing You” and start hallucinating that the distinct scent of my prom date’s CK.One perfume was filling the air.

I’m convinced the 80’s were the best darn years the music industry has seen at any point in history. I’m proud to have been born one momentous Friday in November 1983–at exactly midnight (according to my birth papers); Born in the decade when talent flowed free and when genius artfully manifested itself through the airwaves. I fancy that’s how my inexplicable passion for music came to be.

Maybe whatever it was, seeped through my mom’s womb and gave me that “1980’s music afficionado” mutated DNA. lol. But I could be imagining too much. Oh, and I think I must mention from observation too, that the generation of the 1980’s babies do seem to have more of the chill factor (and are markedly less neurotic) than babies from the other decades. Hehe.

Of course, you might say I’m biased 🙂

So before the morning gets shunned by the highnoon sun, I’d like to share the spoils I’ve uncovered today:

And finally, my perfect personal anthem for this week:



Cheers to the 80’s.

 

*Thanks 80sMrBean for the remarkable selections on your list..

About The Chronic Vacacionista

don't just THINK out of the box. LIVE out of it. View all posts by The Chronic Vacacionista

4 responses to “The Evolution of an 80’s Child’s Early Morning Playlist

Leave a Reply

